Travelogue: Teignmouth Beach

Welcome to my youth!  Or almost, as I wasn’t yet hatched in 1960.

Teignmouth was our nearest beach when growing up, and for a time I went to school there.  I last returned on my honeymoon (yes, I am a sentimental fool), and found that the pier has the same fortune-telling machine we used as kids.  And I can still thrash everyone at table hockey.

The YouTube clip is brilliant.  It was made by the council as a promotional piece for the area, and has the classic received pronounciation narration of the time.  Aside from there being no cream teas in sight, it is everything I remember and more.  It’s a fascinating insight as to how we Brits holidayed at the time, including my London cousins who came to visit each summer.

Leave a Reply

